Presidential Election in India: AbhiStory Report

India Presidential Candidates

The term of 13th President of India will be completed by 20th July 2017, India is going to get 14th president through the presidential election which is scheduled to be held on 17th July 2017.

It’s announced by chief election commissioner Nasim Zaidi that Indian presidential election will be held on 17th July 2017 and counting of votes is scheduled on 20th July 2017. The new president will take charge from 21st July.

Presidential Election Process

Getting into the process of electing a president of India, the president is elected by electoral collage which consists of elected members of both the houses of Parliament . The nomination of a candidate for election to the president must be subscribed by minimum 50 electorals as proposers and at least 50 electorals as secondars .The voting takes place through a Secret Ballot Box . The winning candidate -the selected President of India – needs to secore certain quota of votes which is 50% of the valid votes plus one .

To be the president of India , one must fulfil following requirement and conditions –

  • Should be a indian citizen
  • Should have completed the age of 35.
  • Should be qualified for the elction as the member of Lok Sabha.
  • Should not hold any office of profit .

As in the year 2017 , there are 4896 electoral collage which compromises of 776 MPs and 4120 MLAs from India’s various states and union territories .

Members of Rajya Sabha 233
Members of Lok Sabha 543
Total members of State Assembly 4120
Total 4896

This Year Scenario

This time , both the national alliance , NDA ( National Democratic Alliance ) and UPA(United Progressive Alliance ) , nominate their respective candidates for the seat of India’s President . NDA offers Ram Nath Kovind while UPA nominates Meira Kumar.

1) Ram Nath Kovind

Ramnath Kovind Presidential Election
Ramnath Kovind

Ram Nath Kovind, a dalit leader , member of Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) and member of Parliament. He was the governer of Bihar from 2015 to 2017 . He was born on 1st octobar 1945 in a village named Praunkh , Uttar Pradesh. He holds a bachelor degree in th feild of commerce and one of LLB from Kanpur University . He joined BJP in the year 1991 . He was the president of the BJP Dalit Morcha from 1998 to 2002 and the president of All India Koli Samaj.


2) Meira Kumar

Meira Kumar Presidential Election
Meira Kumar

Meira Kumar, formar Lok Sabha Speaker and member of Parliament . She was born in Arrah District , Bihar to the former Deputy Prime Minister , Jagjivan Ram and freedom fighter Indrani Devi .She studied in Banasthali University , Rajasthan for some period of time . She completed her M.A. from Indraprasth University and Miranda Collage , Delhi University . She was selected as decorate from Banasthali Vidyapith in ther year 2010.

Meira Kumar entered politics in 1985 and was elected , on INC ticket from Bijnor , Uttar Pradesh defeating two powerful Dailt leader Ram Vilas Paswaan and Mayavati .

Last Presidential Elections

Pranab Mukherjee
Pranab Mukherjee

In the year 2012 , india had its 14th presidential election in which Pranab Mukherjee was nominated by UPA Alliance and PA Sangma from NDA .

On 22 July , 2012 Pranab Mukherjee was declared the winner of this epic national battle . He was sworn on 25 July , 2012 giving a tremendous beat of 397776 electoral votes . He was preceeded by Pratibha Patil ( President from 2007-1012) .


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here